Industry Awards Winners 2018
join busnsw
Choose from menu

BusNSW Industry Awards 2018 - Winners

Innovative Operator of the Year


Pictured : John King (BusNSW President), Alex Murray  (Punchbowl Bus Company), The Hon. Andrew Contstance

This year’s award recognises a Sydney bus company that has evolved its business operations to meet the specific needs of their passengers to enhance customers’ experience.

Following the submission of a proposal to operate an on-demand bus service in South-west Sydney the company was selected by Transport for NSW to undertake a pilot.

In October 2017 the company introduced an on-demand service which uses a small accessible vehicle to transport customers between a local railway station and a “Park and Ride” facility and a large hospital.

This innovative service is the first on-demand transport pilot to commence operation in NSW.

Since the service’s commencement patronage has steadily grown and has provided a real solution to parking and congestion problems around the hospital.

This year’s award goes to a family business that has serviced south-western Sydney since 1947.


Outstanding Contribution to the Industry


Pictured : John King (BusNSW President), Peter Ferris accepting award on behalf of Frank (Busline Group), The Hon. Andrew Contstance

The winner of this year’s award has been involved with one of NSW’s largest bus operations for over 40 years and has been a major contributor to the Bus & Coach Industry in NSW.


He served as the President of BusNSW for 6 years and has been a member of the Board of Management since its inception in 2005.


Over many years he has been actively involved with BusNSW committees, including policy and planning, rural and regionl, and audit, finance and remuneration.


He has been through a number of rural and regional contract cycles, and IPART fare reviews, where he was at the forefront of discussions with government, and his financial skills were highly valued.


The winner has successfully managed quality depots, fleet, systems and staff, including mentoring the next generation of family members.


Over many years this person has contributed an enormous amount of his own time to attend meetings and work on industry matters.


Supplier of the Year


Pictured : John King (BusNSW President), John Allen (Volgren), The Hon. Andrew Contstance

The 2018 Supplier of the Year, Volgren, has serviced BusNSW members for decades, providing outstanding service with an excellent team, that is always willing to support operators and their staff.


Volgren has a reputation for value based on “whole-of-life-cost”, and after-sales support from its facility in Sydney.


Volgre has been able to revolutionise its production methods in response to unprecedented demand from initiatives such as the Epping-to-Chatswood Station-Link project, which has led to a production average of 2.5 buses per day.


For the first half of 2018 alone, the company will supply 140 buses to NSW operators and another 20 buses to the ACT.


Volgren has proven its capability to reliably deliver large volume orders to the bus industry and work with multiple chassis suppliers.


bus signs online shop
training facility